Aberaman’s First Eisteddfod

Large Attendances and High-Class Competitions (1910)

The first annual eisteddfod at Aberaman was held on Monday last at the Public Hall. The village was gaily decorated, and flags and buntings were seen everywhere. Large crowds attended, and doubtless, the Hall and Library, to which the proceedings will be handed over, will be greatly benefited.

On the ground floor of the Hall, there was an exhibition of the entries painting, photographs, woodcarving, needlework, etc. The entries were numerous and showed good taste.

Mottoes in mourning were displayed in memory of the following local worthies: Telynog, Nathan Wyn, Mvfyr Wyn, Dafydd Morganwg, Morfab, Alaw Goch, Gwilym Ddu o Lan Cynon (the first celebrated bard of the Aberdare Valley), Roland ap Gwilym, Hywel Cynon, Gwilym Gwent, Gwilym Cynon, Dewi Mabon, John Price (Gwawr), Gwilym Hendy, David Rosser, Caradog and Daniel Griffiths.

The platform committee was Messrs. Jas. Phillips, Oakley Rees, and T. Job. Davies.

The President of the Eisteddfod is Mr E. M. Hann, M.E., J.P. Officers: Chairman, Mr Daniel Thomas; Vice-chairman, Mr T. Job. Davies; Treasurer, Mr Harry Powell, London House; Secretary, Messrs, Handel Harris and Jonah Rees, Aberaman.

The adjudicators: Music Prof. David Evans, Cardiff; Messrs E. T. Davies F.R.C.O., Merthyr; T. Bryant, A.R.C.M., Pontypridd. Literature: Messrs, T. Williams (Brynfab), Pontypridd; W. R. Williams, B.Sc., Aberdare. Recitations: Mr E. Ogwen Williams, F.R.G.S., Aberdare; Mrs (Dr) Finney, Aberaman; Mrs J. H. Powell, Aberdare; Messrs E. Ogwen Williams; W.W. Price, Aberaman; I. E. Thomas M.P.S., Aberaman; J Kerr, Barry; Ambulance: Dr Trevor Jones, Aberdare; Dr Ieuan Thomas, Hirwaun; Dr M. J. Rees, Aberdare; Dr F.C. Bullen, Aberaman. Brass Bands: Mr Sam Radcliffe, Ferndale; Miming; Mr T. L. Davies, M.E., Cwmaman, Geology: Mr D. Davies, M.E., F.R.G.S., Clydach Vale. Accompanists: Prof. Richard Howells, Aberdare; Messrs Fred Davies, Aberaman, and Brinley Lewis, Aberaman.

Gwyn Alaw gave the Eisteddfod song, “Gwlad y Delyn”.


Violin solo (under 14 years of age): “Barcarolle” Gilbert Bealey Swansea.

Photography: 1st Mr James Ray, Cwmaman; 2nd Mr W. Owen.
Pianoforte solo: (under 12 years of age): “Spring-time Flowers”; 1st Lizzie Cronyn Swansea; 2nd Master John Morgan, Aberaman.

Translation: Divided between Mr B. Rees, Port Talbot, and Mr C. Jones Troedyrhiw.

Girls solo: (under 15 years of age) “There is a green hill far away”: 1st Miss Nellie Jones, Cwmaman; 2nd Miss Ceinwen G, Granfield, Tonypandy.

Water Colours or Oil: Miss Alice S. Williams, Belmont Terrace Aberaman.
Juvenile Choirs: “I sing because I love to sing” Six choirs competed viz.:  Abernant United Choir, J. George; Gwawr United Juveniles, W. J. Jenkins; Treorchy Juvenile Choir, T. J. Powell; Aberaman Co-op Juveniles, Gwilym Evans; Abercwmboi Juvenile Choir, D. T. Evans; Mountain Ash Young Choristers, W. Morris. 1st Aberaman Co-op Juveniles; 2nd Gwawr United Juveniles.

Recitation: (under 16), “Paid rho fyny”: 1st Mr Henry Morgan, Pontypridd; 2nd Miss Sarah Jones, Clydach Vale.

Telynog: Gwilym Brynamman, Brynamman.

Boys solo: “The Chorister”: 1st Master Emlyn Davies, Aberaman; 2nd Mr H. Roberts, Miskin.
Darn Adriddiad: Mr James Williams, Penrhiwceiber, (ap Valant).

Action song: own selection. Four choirs competed viz.: Blodau’r Maes, Miss Thomas, Cwmaman; Little Geisha’s, Miss Thomas, Cwmaman; Treorchy Minstrels, T. J. Powell; Abercwmboi, D. T. Evans. 1st and 2nd prized between Blodau’r Maes and Little Geishas’.

Recitation: (under 16 and over 12): “Guilty or Not Guilty”, 1st divided between Alice Maud James and Mabel Farr, Penarth: and 2nd D. J. Jones, Dowlais.

Pianoforte solo: (under 14) “Sweet Content”; 1st Miss Lizzie Cronyn, Swansea; and special prize given by Mr Tom Rees to Miss May Abraham, Cwmaman.

Pianoforte solo: (open) “Moonlight Sonata”, Miss Mabel Hughes, Aberdare, Contralto solo “He was despised,” Miss Esther Cooper, Ynyshir.

Recitation: “Rhagorfraint y Gweithwyr,” Miss Ruth Davies, Clydach Vale.

Bass solo: “Abide with me” Mr Dd. Price Howells, Porth.

Recitation: “Gambler’s Wife” Mrs Emily Pickford, Penarth.

Soprano solo: “Entreaty”, Madam Clee Williams, Treharris.

Tenor solo: “Yr Hen Gerddor,” Mr Llew Jones, Aberdare.

Art Needlework: Miss Maggie Jones, Gwawr Cottage, Aberaman.

Map of South Wales: Mr Dd. Davies, Aberaman.

Mining: Divided between Messrs, Dd. Rd, Davies and Ernest Phillips both o Aberaman.

Male Voice Choirs: “Spartan Heroes”. Four choirs competed, viz.: Abercynon W. Williams; Aberaman Male Voice, T. J. Phillips (Ap William Cynon); Penydarren Male Voice, G Lewis; Glyn-Neath Male Voice, W. Davies. 1st Penydarren Male Voice, 2nd Aberaman Male Voice.

Geology: Mr D. Jackson Thomas (junior), Aberaman.

Mixed Choirs: “O Father whose Almighty Power”. The following competed: Tredegar Music Lovers, Ben Richards; Mountain Ash Temperance Choir, I. W. Evans; Aberaman United Choir, Charles Thomas; Abernant United Choir, John Thomas; Trecynon United Choir, W. Gwynne: Cwmaman Choral Society, Edward Lewis; Abercanaid District Choral Society, Ben Davies: Penydarren Choir, J. Watkins; Briton Ferry United Choir, W. Morris; Dowlais Music Lovers, J. J. Lewis; Treforest United Choir, A. P. Turner; Skewen Music Lovers, W. Davies.  1st, Briton Ferry United Choir; 2nd, Skewen Music Lovers.

Brass Band Contest:(Class b). Selection, “La Traviata”. The following bands competed: Maesteg Volunteer, J. Locker; Plymouth Workmen, R.C. Smith; Cwmaman Silver, J. Smith; Mountain Ash, W. Greenwood; Ynyshir, D. Walters; Tonypandy Hibernia, G. H. Thomas. 1st Mountain Ash, 2nd Maesteg, 3rd Plymouth Workmen.

Ambulance: “Practical Aid to the Injured.” The competitors were Aberaman Team, Aberdare Brigade No. 2. Britannic, No. 1 Squad, Elliot Colliery Team, Cwmaman Hauliers Team, Great Western No. 3, Bedlinog Squad.  1st Cwmaman Hauliers Team, 2nd Aberaman Team.

Brass Band March: 1st Mountain Ash, 2nd Maesteg.

Ambulance: Oral Competition (Class A), 1. Mr J. Powell Davies, Cwmaman, 2. Mr W. Morris, Aberaman, 3. Mr D. R. Morgan, Aberaman.

Ambulance: Oral Examination (Class B), Mr J. Powell Davies, Cwmaman.

Open: violin solo, “Polonaise Caprice,” Mr D. J. Morris, Aberdare.

Wood carving: Miss Lottie Morris, Cartref, Aberdare.

Crotchet doyleys: Miss Lottie Morris.

The conductor was Mr Myrddin Hicks, Penrhiwceiber, who fulfilled his difficult task admirably. He was ably supported by Mr Evan Jones, Nantgwawr, and Mr Tome Rees, Aberaman the sub-conductors.

The crowning ceremony proved very picturesque. The winner on the poem to “The Labourer,” Rev Ben Vaughn, Cwmdare, was led to the platform by Eurfab and Abel Jones; Mr Tom Prestwood rounded the “Corn Gwlad.” After a detailed adjudication by Brynfab, the following bards formed a circle and delivered congratulations to the winner in verse; Ab Hevin (who acted as Archdruid), W. Myrddin Hicks, Tom Cynon, Dewi Aeron, Abel Jones, Dewi Llwyd, Myfyr Arthen, Tom Rees, James Phillips, Gwynwawr, David Davies (Eurfab), Ap Valant, T. Job. Davies, Madog Fychan, E Ogwen Williams and Iago Aman. The chairman song, by Mr William Rowlands “Caerluddian,” was rendered as a duet by Gwynalaw and Mr John Lake. The bard was invested by Mrs Handel Harris and Mrs Daniel Thomas.

At this juncture, Mr Keir Hardie, one of the vice-presidents made his appearance and was received with cheers. In a brief speech, he congratulated the Eisteddfod Committee on their successful venture in aid of the Public Hall and Institute and hoped it would be repeated next year.

Back to Aberaman