Welcome to Cynon Culture

Cynon Culture

The objects of Cynon Culture is to promote and protect all aspects of the culture and history of the Cynon Valley. Our website is intended to inform and generate people’s interest in the valley and surrounding areas, and the material that is on this website is the results of many years of research. The material that you will see provides, for the first time, a detailed history of the valley online. The website is dedicated to all the researchers who loved local history and left a legacy of material for me to access, and in turn be able to provide for you – the readers.

PLEASE NOTE – The website is currently migrating over to a new design, so in the mean time a few pages may be incomplete/inaccessible.



General site fixes.
Articles added to Cynon Map locations
Links page updated.


New pages uploaded:
T. Edwards 1840
Susan Mainwaring
Rees Rees


New pages uploaded:
William Evans “‘Cawr Cynon” 1808 – 1860
Charlie Dunbar 1901 – 1925
Sir Lewis Morris 1833 – 1907
Roger Beck 1841 – 1923
Mr W.H. Brain 1870 – 1934
Elliot Crawshay-Williams 1879 – 1962
The Madoc Eisteddfod 09.10.1851 And Grand National Festival